Today marks the 11th day of operation. Many things has changed. From menu, operations, and decoration of the shop. We have seen repeat customers in our second week! Really grateful for having them here. This week's sales is still low, due to the low visibility and awareness created on the shop. We have changed the menu by adding more and eliminating some items. As we are still learning and adapting, flyers went from version 1 to version 3 printed black and white and distributed by ourselves. It is tiring, but it is a real life marketing challenge! As the menu is still subject to change, we have not gone to the mass flyer printing. So far, we have placed an order for 2 banners to hang out. That is our only mode of advertisement for now.

So today, a beautiful Saturday morning, with lots of joggers around the park (but not in front of my shop!) I embarked on a thick skinned journey:
No banner, no flyer at hand. So armed with this hand drawn sign, and a colour printed menu, I went out of the shop, walks round the park, asked people to look at the menu, and directed them to my shop. Not a lot of people is around. I approached a group of 3 young guys and they were very receptive to my short speech of my shop. After them, I walked around and talked to 3 aunties who wonders whether my hand drawn sign is a new advertising gimmick for the younger generation. One of them ask: Now advertising is done like this ah? Effective meh? What can I say? My banner and flyers are not ready, and this is the only thing I could do for now (super thick skin

Well when I reach the shop after my round, the 3 young guys were already in the shop! Many thanks to for trying the place and the food out! We gave them a free home made brownie. To promote a shop, one must really reach out and talk to people. Young people are the ones that are more willing to try to come in the shop. From observation, the older ones sees me(smiling sweetly and holding flyers) like a disease. All avoided eye contact and quickly scurried away. 

We asked the 3 young guys on the food. They said breakfast was nice especially the mushroom! Happy:) Hope they will come visit again!



Leave a Reply.